The 2018 State, Assembly and National Elections have taken the country by a storm and rightly so. We bring to you fresh highlights on the Election Results 2018 of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Telangana, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram.

The Congress on Tuesday bagged victory in the Assembly Polls in the three Hindi heartland states. Reportedly, Congress has emerged victorious as the single largest party in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh and has overpowered BJP in Chhattisgarh.

Election Results 2018

In the multi-phase polling, Chhattisgarh voted on November 12 (18 seats) and November 20 (72 seats), Madhya Pradesh (230 seats) and Mizoram (40 seats) on November 28 and Rajasthan (199 seats) and Telangana (119 seats) on December  7.

Madhya Pradesh Elections 2018: Congress wins 114 Seats, Shivraj Singh Chauhan resigns

Post a neck to neck battle between the Congress and the BJP, the former emerged as the single largest party in the legislative assembly elections.

As per the final tally released by Election Commission, Congress won 114 seats, BJP won 109, BSP won 2, SP won one and the independents won a total of 4 seats in the state’s 230-member house. The minimum number of seats required to form a government is 116.

Congress fell short of the majority by 2 seats, it would be up to the SP, BSP and independents to decide which party forms the government in a state which was ruled by BJP for the last 15 years.

Notably, three-time CM Shivraj Singh Chauhan has resigned from his post of Chief Minister in Madhya Pradesh. He went to Governor Anandiben Patel to submit his resignation and took full responsibility of BJP’s defeat in the State.

Madhya Pradesh Elections 2018


Seats Won in 2013

Seats Won in 2018

Voter Percentage




40.9 per cent




41 per cent




5 per cent



1.3 per cent




2.2 per cent

Key highlights of the Madhya Pradesh Elections 2018

1. Congress emerged as the single-largest party with 114 seats, but two seats short of the majority mark in the 23-seat assembly.

2. Bharatiya Janata Party staked claim to form the government in the state, even though it was restricted at 109 seats.

3. The Bharatiya Janata Party lost its bastion of 15 years to the Indian National Congress.

4. Reportedly, BJP was ahead of Congress by a razor-thin margin of 0.1 per cent, if the vote share is to be considered.

5. Congress would gain support from the Samajwadi Party, yet, it would require the support of 1 MLA.

Background of Madhya Pradesh Elections 2018

1. The Assembly elections were held in Madhya Pradesh on November 28, 2018 and saw 75 per cent voter turnout.

2. At least, 2716 candidates contested for the 200 seats.

3. The Congress and BJP Poll Campaigns were led by Party President Rahul Gandhi and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

4. BJP’s Shivraj Singh Chauhan was appointed as Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister in the year 2005.

5. “We did not get majority and will not stake claim to form the government. I am going to tender my resignation to the Governor,” said Chouhan.

Rajasthan Election Results 2018: Congress victorious, Vasundhara Raje resigns

The Indian National Congress emerged as the single largest party in Rajasthan, by winning 99 seats in the 2018 Rajasthan Assembly Elections. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trailed behind with 73 seats and others fetched 27 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) displayed an impressive run by winning 6 seats. Hanuman Beniwal-led Rashtriya Loktantrik Party won 3 seats.

The Gujarat-based Bharatiya Tribal Party (BTP) and Communist Party of India (Marxist) won 2 seats each, Independents won 13 seats and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) won 1 seat.

The Single Phase Elections of 2018

The state of Rajasthan went for polling in a single phase election on December 7, 2018 for 199 out of total 200 seats. This single phase election happened post weeks of intense campaigning by Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, Congress’ Sachin Pilot and Ashok Gehlot, and national level leaders including PM Narendra Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah and Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

A political party needs to win at least 100 seats to secure a simple majority in the State Legislative Assembly.

Key Highlights

1. Former Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot won fromSardarpura constituency, defeating BJP’s Shambhu Singh Khetasar by over 40,000 votes.

2. Congress President Sachin Pilot won from Tonk, beating the only Muslim candidate from BJP,  Yoonus Khan by 54,179 votes.

3. CP Joshi, another prominent Congress leader, defeated BJP’s Mahesh Pratap Singh in Nathdwara.

4. Gulab Chand Kataria, Rajasthan Home Minister, won Assembly elections for the eighth term, defeating Congress’s Girija Vyas by 9,307 votes in Udaipur Assembly seat.

5. BJP’s Social Justice Minister Arun Chaturvedi lost to Pratap Singh Khachariya in Civil Lines.

Telangana Elections Results 2018: TRS sweeps majority for the second time

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) secured a majority in the 119-member state assembly of Telangana by winning 87 seats on December 11, 2018. Congress came second with 19 seats, TDP bagged 2 seats, BJP one and others 9 seats. Now that they have a clear mandate, the KCR-led party is preparing to form the government in the state for the second straight term.

Key highlights of Telangana Assembly Elections 2018

1. It was a single-phase polling held in the state on December 7, 2018

2. The voter turnout was recorded as 73.20 per cent.

3.  At least 1821 candidates contested and counting was underway for 119 constituencies.

4. The TRS President K Chandrasekhar Rao won his Gajwel seat by more than 51,000 votes over his nearest Congress rival V Pratap Reddy.

5. Other prominent candidates among those who won include ministers E Rajender and T Srinivas Yadav and AIMIM’s Akbaruddin Owaisi, brother of Party Chief Asaduddin Owaisi, who won from Chandrayangutta constituency.

Telangana Assembly Elections 2018


Seats Won in 2014

Seats Won in 2018

Voter Percentage




73.1 per cent




16 per cent




1.7 per cent




0.8 per cent




7.6 per cent

Chhattisgarh Election Results 2018: Congress races ahead

Notably, Chhattisgarh was the only state where voting was held in two phases. The first in 18 seats spread across 8 Maoist-affected districts on November 12, and the then in 72 constituencies spread across 19 districts on November 20.

Congress bagged 68 seats in the 90-member Assembly. Janta Congress Chhattisgarh bagged 5 seats and BSP won 2.

Raman Singh, Chhattisgarh three-time Chief Minister conceded defeat on Tuesday and said he takes full responsibility of BJP’s defeat in the Assembly elections and will analyse the reasons for the rout.

Mizoram Election Results 2018: Congress likely to lose out to MNF

The 40-member Mizoram Assembly will begin from 8 am today amidst elaborate security arrangements, in 13 counting centres. Mizoram Polls hold significance for the Congress as the Grand Old Party is protecting its last bastion in the Northeast. Notably, Mizoram remains the only state which does not come under the rule of the BJP-led NDA government. The Mizoram Assembly Elections were held on November 28, 2018. The result of the polls will decide if Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of Congress would be returning for a third consecutive term in office.

Exit Polls predictions show MNF winning 18 seats, Congress winning 16 seats and the rest 6. BJP is seen as not winning even 1 seat. The MNF and Congress contested from all the 40 seats in Mizoram while the BJP fought in 39.

The Mizoram People’s Conference is an ally of the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), but the two parties decided to battle it out at the Mizoram Assembly Elections separately.

Watch this space for your daily update of GK and Current Affairs. Read why Urjit Patel resigned, why a ‘Freight Village is being built in Varanasi and the latest welcoming move on the Aadhaar Act.